The Awakening of Malcolm X

The Awakening of Malcolm X

Ilyasah Shabazz & Tiffany D. Jackson
Regular price
Sale price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Awakening of Malcolm X is a powerful narrative account of the activist's adolescent years in jail, written by his daughter Ilyasah Shabazz along with 2019 Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe award-winning author, Tiffany D. Jackson.

No one can be at peace until he has his freedom.

In Charlestown Prison, Malcolm Little struggles with the weight of his past. Plagued by nightmares, Malcolm drifts through days, unsure of his future. Slowly, he befriends other prisoners and writes to his family. He reads all the books in the prison library, joins the debate team and the Nation of Islam. Malcolm grapples with race, politics, religion, and justice in the 1940s. And as his time in jail comes to an end, he begins to awaken -- emerging from prison more than just Malcolm Little: Now, he is Malcolm X.

Here is an intimate look at Malcolm X's young adult years. While this book chronologically follows X: A Novel, it can be read as a stand-alone historical novel that invites larger discussions on Black power, prison reform, and civil rights.


  • Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) (January 5, 2021)
  • Language: English
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • ISBN-13: 9780374313296
  • Reading age: 12 - 18 years
  • Grade level: 7 - 9
  • Item Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Dimensions: 5.85 x 1.16 x 8.58 inches