Skip to product information
1 of 1

Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite

Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite

Regular price $30.98
Regular price Sale price $30.98
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Limited double metallic gold colored vinyl LP pressing released to coincide with the album's 20th Anniversary. This package comes with an 8-page booklet that includes rare images from the original album and single photo shoots.

The booklet also includes a very special pair of revelatory new essays:

1) an appreciation of Maxwell and his music by noted R&B scholar, music/culture critic, journalist and filmmaker Nelson George

2) a behind-the-scenes reminiscence on the making of Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite penned by music industry veteran Mitchell Cohen, who, as Senior Vice President of A&R at Columbia Records, signed Maxwell to the label and helped shepherd the music from raw concept to full realization

Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite was released on April 2, 1996, by Columbia Records. Maxwell recorded the album between 1994 and 1995 at Electric Lady Studios, RPM, Sorcerer, and Chung King Studios in New York City, and CRC Studios in Chicago. The record's music features a mellow, groove-based sound with elements of funk, jazz, smooth soul, and quiet storm. A concept album, Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite was composed as a song cycle that focuses on an adult romance, based in part on Maxwell's personal experiences.


- Disc 1 -

1. The Urban Theme

2. Welcome

3. Sumthin' Sumthin'


- Disc 2 -

1. Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder)

2. Dancewitme

3. ... Til the Cops Come Knockin'


- Disc 3 -

1. Whenever Wherever Whatever

2. Lonely's the Only Company (I&Ii)

3. Reunion


- Disc 4 -

1. Suitelady (The Proposal Jam)

2. The Suite Theme

View full details