Skip to product information
1 of 1

We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For

We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For

Inner Light in a Time of Darkness

Alice Walker
Regular price $16.99
Regular price Sale price $16.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The New York Times bestselling book that both galvanizes progressives for action and is a balm--from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author

With a new foreword by Rebecca Walker

When the United States recently exploded with unprecedented demonstrations challenging racial violence and hatred, Alice Walker's New York Times bestselling We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting For was one of the books to which people turned for inspiration and solace. Called "stunningly insightful" and "a book that will inspire hope" by Publishers Weekly, this work by the author of The Color Purple is a clarion call to activism--spiritual ruminations with a progressive political edge, that offer a moment of care and solace.

Walker encourages readers to take faith in the fact that, despite our daunting predicaments, we are uniquely prepared to create positive change. Drawing on Walker's spiritual grounding and her progressive political convictions, the book offers a cornucopia of the Pulitzer Prize winner's writings and speeches on advocacy, struggle, and hope. Each chapter concludes with a recommended meditation to teach patience, compassion, and forgiveness.

Walker's clear vision and calm meditative voice--truly "a light in darkness"--has struck a deep chord among a large and devoted readership. In her new introduction, Walker reflects on the contemporary political and spiritual crises in the post-Trump era United States, making this classic book relevant for the current moment.


Alice Walker is one of the most prolific and important writers of our time, known for her literary fiction, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Color Purple (which was also a major Broadway play), her many volumes of poetry, and her powerful nonfiction collections. She is the author of We Are the Ones We Have Been Waiting ForPossessing the Secret of JoyThe World Has Changed (edited by Rudolph P. Byrd), The Chicken ChroniclesThe World Will Follow Joy, and The Cushion in the Road, all published by The New Press. Some of her other bestselling books include In Search of Our Mothers' GardensThe Temple of My FamiliarBy the Light of My Father's Smile, and The Way Forward Is with a Broken Heart. Her advocacy on behalf of the dispossessed has spanned the globe. She lives in Northern California.


  • Publisher: The New Press (October 19, 2021)
  • Language English
  • Paperback 288 pages
  • ISBN-10 1620976730
  • ISBN-13 9781620976739
  • Item Weight 1.11 pounds
  • Dimensions 4.5 x 7.25 inches


View full details