Skip to product information
1 of 1

Carrie Mae Weems

Carrie Mae Weems

Hasselblad Award 2023

Carrie Mae Weems
Regular price $55.00
Regular price Sale price $55.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Weems' outstanding oeuvre is honored with the prestigious photography prize

In March 2023, Carrie Mae Weems (born 1953) became the first Black woman to win the Hasselblad Award. Citing her outstanding achievements in the field of photography, the Hasselblad Foundation wrote that "Weems's work has for decades anticipated salient issues of our time--the struggle for racial equality and human rights--with unflinching visual and ethical force." Spanning not only photography but also film and installation, Weems' oeuvre foregrounds both the joys and obstacles of Black womanhood, whether through her own personal experience or a more universal scope. This commemorative monograph showcases Weems' most prominent works, including Family Pictures and Stories (1978-84), Kitchen Table Series (1990) and From Here I Saw What Happened and I Cried (1995-96). Other more recent series from 2016 and 2020 emphasize Weems' continued innovations and contributions to photography.


Carrie Mae Weems, one of today's most influential contemporary American artists, has work in New York's Metropolitan Museum of Art and Museum of Modern Art, the Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, and London's Tate Modern. Her previous publications include The Hampton Project (Aperture, 2001), Kitchen Table Series (2016), and Strategies of Engagement (2018). Weems has been awarded a MacArthur Foundation Fellowship the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation's Lifetime Achievement Award, and a US Department of State Medal of Arts.


  • Publisher: Walther Konig Verlag
  • Publish Date: March 26, 2024
  • Pages: 164
  • Dimensions: 0.0 X 0.0 X 0.0 inches | 0.0 pounds
  • Language: English
  • Type: Hardcover
  • EAN/UPC: 9783753305158
  • BISAC Categories: Individual Photographers - Monographs


View full details